Press Releases
Brooklyn Campus What's New  

Press Releases

Long Island University’s Arnold & Marie Schwartz College of
Pharmacy and Health Sciences to Hold 121st Commencement

371 degrees to be awarded during May 14 Ceremony at
Long Island University’s Brooklyn Campus

Brooklyn, N.Y. — On May 14, 2010, more than 370 degree candidates will graduate from Long Island University’s Arnold & Marie Schwartz College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, well prepared to rise to the challenges of a field that continues to expand and evolve.

The College’s 121st commencement ceremony will take place at 1 p.m. on the athletic field at Long Island University’s Brooklyn Campus. University President David J. Steinberg will confer 149 Master of Science degrees, 209 Pharm.D. degrees and 13 Ph.D. degrees. Dean David Taft of the Arnold & Marie Schwartz College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences will administer the traditional Oath of a Pharmacist to the graduating students. This year, the College is celebrating its 125th anniversary.

Mary Anne Koda-Kimble, Pharm.D., the dean of the School of Pharmacy at the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF), and one of the few pharmacists elected to the Institute of Medicine, will receive an honorary Doctor of Science degree and will serve as the commencement speaker.

"Dr. Koda-Kimble was one of a small cadre of trailblazing pharmacists who led the way for what became known as clinical pharmacy," Dean Taft noted. "Clinical pharmacy is the foundation of the patient-centered care approach in which our graduates have been so thoroughly and comprehensively inculcated," he asserted. "I’m sure that Dr. Koda-Kimble will send the Class of 2010 recipients off with a timely and powerful message as they begin their own practices," he added.

Dr. Koda-Kimble is a past president of the board of trustees of the United States Pharmacopoeia (USP) and recently completed a five-year term on the Accreditation Council for Pharmaceutical Education’s board of directors. She also is a past president of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy and has served on the Food and Drug Administration's Nonprescription Drugs Advisory Committee.

After earning a Pharm.D. from UCSF in 1969, she joined the faculty at her alma mater, assuming positions of increasing responsibility until she was appointed dean in 1998. Dr. Koda-Kimble is a founding member and distinguished practitioner of the National Academy of Practice in Pharmacy, and she is the recipient of the Remington Honor Medal, the profession’s highest honor, from the American Pharmacists Association and the Outstanding Dean Award from the American Pharmacists Association-Academy of Student Pharmacists. In July, she will receive the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy’s Robert K. Chalmers Distinguished Pharmacy Educator Award. The author of many scholarly publications, Dr. Koda-Kimble is one of the founding co-editors of “Applied Therapeutics: The Clinical Use of Drugs.”

The valedictorian for the Class of 2010 is Rina Senderskaya, 29, who emigrated to the United States with her family when she was 11. Ms. Senderskaya of Sheepshead Bay, Brooklyn, has won the College’s Gold Medal and Excellence in Pharmacy awards, as well as Merck Awards for outstanding performance in medical physiology, pathophysiology and biochemistry, and iatronic diseases. She achieved an astonishing 3.96 grade-point average.

Two individuals will be recognized with the Daniel Stateman Distinguished Alumni Award. Muhammed N. Majeed ’80 (M.S.), Ph.D., is the founder and owner of Sabinsa Corporation, which manufactures standardized herbal products, fine chemicals, drug/nutraceutical formulations and cosmeceuticals. The company has created and marketed more than 100 products for human nutrition and well-being, and over the course of 20 years, has evolved into a global corporation with operations on five continents. Dr. Majeed was a researcher for Pfizer, Inc; Carter-Wallace; and Paco Research before launching Sabinsa in 1988. In 2004, he won the Ellis Island Medal of Honor from the U.S.-based National Ethnic Coalition of Organizations (NECO). He also established the Dr. Majeed Foundation to help educate underprivileged children in India.

Howard Murad ’62, M.D., who is celebrated as one of the nation’s top authorities on skincare, also will receive a Distinguished Alumni Award. Dr. Murad is the founder and CEO of Murad, Inc.; Murad Research Labs; and Murad Inclusive Health Center. He is an associate clinical professor of medicine (dermatology) at UCLA’s Geffen School of Medicine. Dr. Murad, who earned a Bronze Star while serving in the U.S. Army from 1967-1969, founded Murad, Inc. in 1989. He is considered a pioneer in skin health treatment, having been credited with developing the first line of doctor-branded skincare as well as introducing the first esthetic products formulated with alpha hydroxy acids (AHAs) to treat the signs of aging. Dr. Murad introduced his discoveries on the Science of Cellular Water™ in his first book, “The Murad Method,” and received wide acclaim for his books, “Wrinkle-Free Forever” and “The Cellulite Solution.”

Press contact information:
Brian Harmon
Director of Public Relations, Brooklyn Campus

Posted: May 5, 2010

Long Island University Brooklyn Campus