Long Island University Logo

 
Faculty & Staff
FACULTY & STAFF > | Faculty |Community Pharmacy Preceptors | Volunteer Clinical Faculty | Staff | Calendar of Events


PHARMACY MASTER CALENDAR
2012 - 2013

Contact: Liesel Schumacher, Assistant Dean for Administration
718-488-1228; Liesel.Schumacher@liu.edu


September
Date / Time Function Location Contact Person

Tues. Sept. 4, 2012

9 am-4:15 pm

P-3 Orientation

HS 107

Dean Cicero

718-488-1237

Tues. Sept. 4, 2012

10 am – 2 pm

Convocation – Brooklyn Campus

WRAC

 

Wed. Sept. 5, 2012

Fall Semester 2012 Classes Begin

 

 

Thurs. Sept. 6, 2012

3 pm

Rx Deans Meeting                           

L 112

Dean Taft

718-488-1004

Fri. Sept. 7, 2012

9 am-11:15 am

P-3 Orientation – Q&A from Sept. 4th Orientation; Student Portfolios; Collection of HIPAA forms; PH 300 Orientation

HS 107

Dean Cicero

718-488-1253

Sun. Sept. 9, 2012

7:30 am-1:30 pm

Continuing Education Program – New Drugs 2012

LaGuardia Marriott

Mr. Bova

718-488-1065

Sun. Sept. 9, 2012

7:30 am-4:30 pm

Continuing Education Program – APhA Pharmacy Based Immunization

LaGuardia Marriott

Mr. Bova

718-488-1065

Wed. Sept. 12, 2012

IACUC meeting

HS 614B

Dr. Stagni

718-488-1231

Thurs. Sept. 13, 2012
3 pm

Rx Executive Committee Meeting

L 112

Dean Taft/Dean Schumacher

718-488-1004

Fri. Sept. 14, 2012

9 am-11 am

P-3 Orientation – Career Services; Scholastic Committee; Critical thinking test

HS 107

Dean Cicero

718-488-1253

Fri. Sept. 21, 2012

9 am-10:25 am

P-3 Orientation – Advisors (registration/workshops/scholarships)

HS 107

Dean Cicero

718-488-1253

Sun. Sept. 23, 2012

8:15 am-9:45 am

10 am- 1 pm

Continuing Education Program – Part 1 - Examining the Basics of Insulin Therapy

Part 2 – Medication Errors

LaGuardia Marriott

Mr. Bova

718-488-1065

 

Mon. Sept. 24, 2012

12 Noon

Rx Faculty Meeting

LLC 116

Dean Schumacher

718-488-1228

Mon. Sept. 24, 2012

5:45 pm - 8:00 pm

Pharmacy Networking Night Paramount Gym

Ms. Alcantara
718-780-6562

Fri. Sept. 28, 2012

12:30 – 4 pm

University-wide New Faculty Orientation

University Center

 

(Back to Top)
October
Date / Time Function Location Contact Person

Tues. Oct. 2, 2012

4 pm

Council of Overseers Meeting

Harmonie Club, 4 East 60th Street, NY, NY

Dean Schumacher

718-488-1228

Thurs. Oct. 4, 2012

3 pm

Rx Deans Meeting

L 112

Dean Taft

718-488-1004

Mon. Oct. 8, 2012

12 Noon

Rx Faculty Meeting

LLC 116

Dean Schumacher

718-488-1228

Sun. Oct. 14-Thurs. Oct. 18, 2012

AAPS Annual Meeting

Chicago, IL

 

Sun. Oct. 14, 2012

7:30 am-1:30 pm

Continuing Education – NYS Controlled Substances and More…..Practice Issues  NYPH Addressed

LaGuardia Marriott

Mr. Bova

718-488-1065

Sun. Oct. 14, 2012

9 am-12 Noon

Continuing Education – CPR & Blood Bourne Pathogen Training

LaGuardia Marriott

Mr. Bova

718-488-1065

Thurs. Oct. 18, 2012

3 pm

Rx Executive Committee Meeting

L 112

Dean Taft/Dean Schumacher

718-488-1004

Thurs. Oct. 18, 2012

12 Noon
Dean’s Hour – Dr. Suzanna Gim discussing her trip and DVD -  “Sierre Leone: International Pharmacy” ; Sponsored by APhA/PLS/ACCP HS 119

Mr. Campbell

718-488-1241

Mon. Oct. 22, 2012

12 Noon
Dean’s Hour – Dr. Brooke Fidler – “Breast/Ovarian Cancer”; sponsored by LKS HS 119

Mr. Campbell

718-488-1241

Sun. Oct. 28, 2012

7:30 am-1:30 pm

Continuing Education – 3rd Annual Arthur Goldberg Law Day

LaGuardia Marriott

Mr. Bova

718-488-1065

Mon. Oct 29, 2012

12 Noon
Dean’s Hour – Mr. Joseph Bova discussing “New Laws in Pharmacy”; sponsored by Rho Chi/AMCP HS 119

Mr. Campbell

718-488-1241

Tues. Oct. 30, 2012

9 am – 4 pm

Greg Boyer, ACPE

L 108

Dean Taft

(Back to Top)
November
Date / Time Function Location Contact Person

Thurs. Nov. 1, 2012

12 Noon
Dean’s Hour – Program Sponsored by American Society of Consultant Pharmacists HS 119

Mr. Campbell

718-488-1241

Mon. Nov. 5, 2012

12 Noon
Dean’s Hour – TBA – Sponsored by ASHP HS 119

Mr. Campbell

718-488-1241

Mon. Nov. 5, 2012

12 Noon

Rx Faculty Meeting

LLC 116

Dean Schumacher

718-488-1228

Tues. Nov. 6, 2012

3 pm

Rx Deans Meeting

L 112

Dean Taft

718-488-1228

Thurs. Nov. 8, 2012

12 Noon
Dean’s Hour – TBA – Sponsored by PISA HS 119

Mr. Campbell

718-488-1241

Sun. Nov 11, 2012

TBD

LIU DAY

TBD

Dean Schumacher

718-488-1228

Sun. Nov. 11, 2012

7:30 am-1:30 pm

Continuing Education - IPRO – Current Trends in Anticoagulation Therapy

La Guardia Marriott

Mr. Bova

718-488-1065

Sun. Nov. 11, 2012

7:30 am-4:30 pm

Continuing Education – APhA Pharmacy Based Immunization

La Guardia Marriott

Mr. Bova

718-488-1065

Mon. Nov. 12, 2012

10 am

Executive Committee

L 112

Dean Taft/Dean Schumacher

718-488-1004

Thurs. Nov. 15, 2012

12 Noon
Dean’s Hour – TBA – Sponsored by Phi Lambda Sigma HS 119

Mr. Campbell

718-488-1241

Fri. Nov. 16, 2012

8:30 am-10:30 am

Dr. Greg Boyer, Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education - Presentation to Faculty and Staff

LLC 116

Dean Schumacher

718-488-1228

Mon. Nov. 19, 2012

12 Noon
Dean’s Hour – Mr. Fernado Gonzalez discussing “The Do’s and Don’ts of Pharmacy” ; sponsored by APhA HS 119

Mr. Campbell

718-488-1241

Thurs. Nov 22-Wed. Nov. 23, 2012

Thanksgiving Holiday – No Classes

 

 

Mon. Nov. 26, 2012

12 Noon
Dean’s Hour – Dr. John Lonie discussing “Business Planning and Management”; sponsored by Rho Chi/AMCP HS 119

Mr. Campbell

718-488-1241
(Back to Top)
December
Date / Time Function Location Contact Person

Sun. Dec. 2-Thurs. Dec. 6, 2012

ASHP Mid-Year Meeting

Alumni Reception Time & Location TBD

Las Vegas, NV

Dean Kirschenbaum

718-488-3371

Mon. Dec. 3, 2012

12 Noon
**P 5  - TOP 200** HS 119  

Thurs. Dec. 6, 2012

12 Noon

**P 4 – TOP 200**

HS 119  

Thurs. Dec. 6, 2012

Council of Overseers Meeting

Harmonie Club, 4 East 60th Street, NY, NY

Dean Schumacher

718-488-1228

Mon. Dec. 10, 2012

12 Noon

Rx Faculty Meeting

LLC 116

Dean Schumacher

718-488-1228

Tues. Dec 11, 2012

3 pm

Rx Deans Meeting              

L 112

Dean Taft

718-488-1004

Thurs. Dec. 13, 2012

3 pm

Rx Executive Committee Meeting

L 112

Dean Taft/Dean Schumacher

718-488-1004

Thurs. Dec. 13, 2012

Fall Semester 2012 Classes End

 

 

Fri. Dec. 14-Thurs. Dec. 20, 2012

Final Exams

 

 

Sun. Dec. 16, 2012

7:30 am-1:30 pm

Continuing Education – Diabetes Update 2012

La Guardia Marriott

Mr. Bova

718-488-1065

Fri. Dec. 21, 2012

Winter Recess Begins

 

 

(Back to Top)
January
Date / Time Function Location Contact Person

Wed. Jan. 9, 2013

Part III NYS Board of Pharmacy Licensing Examination

WL 221

Dr. Cutie

718-488-1101

Tues. Jan. 22, 2013

Spring Semester 2013 Classes begin

 

 

Wed. Jan. 30, 2013

PCOA

 TBA

Dean Cicero

718-488-1253

(Back to Top)
February
Date / Time Function Location Contact Person

Tues. Feb. 5, 2013

3 pm

Rx Deans Meeting

L 112

Dean Taft

718-488-1004

Thurs. Feb. 7, 2013

3 pm

Rx Executive Committee Meeting

L 112

Dean Taft/Dean Schumacher

718-488-1004

Mon. Feb. 11, 2013

11 am

Rx Faculty Meeting

LLC 116

Dean Schumacher

718-488-1228

Mon. Feb. 18, 2013

President’s Day – School Closed

 

 

Thurs. Feb. 21, 2013

10 am-12 pm
Faculty/Staff Development Program H 210

Dr. Nogid

718-488-1270
Thurs. Feb. 21, 2013 Special Faculty Meeting – Guest speakers Kitty Rockett, Assistant Vice President for Sponsored Research  and Michele Kuchera, Associate Director H 2LG

Dean Kirschenbaum

718-488-3371
(Back to Top)
March
Date / Time Function Location Contact Person

Fri. March 1-Mon. Mar. 4, 2013

APhA Annual Meeting

Los Angeles, CA

 

Mon. March 4, 2012

11 am

Rx Faculty Meeting

LLC 116

Dean Schumacher

718-488-1228

Tues. Mar. 5, 2013

4 pm

Council of Overseers Meeting

Harmonie Club, 4 East 60th Street, NY, NY

Dean Schumacher

718-488-1228

Thurs. Mar. 7, 2013

3 pm

Rx Deans Meeting

L 112

Dean Taft

718-488-1004

Mon. Mar. 11-Fri. Mar. 15, 2013

Spring Recess

 

 

Thurs. Mar. 14, 2013

3 pm

Rx Executive Committee Meeting

L 112

Dean Taft/Dean Schumacher

718-488-1004

(Back to Top)
April
Date / Time Function Location Contact Person

Tues. April 2, 2013

3 pm

Rx Deans Meeting

L 112

Dean Taft

718-488-1004

Thurs. April 4, 2013

3 pm

Rx Executive Committee Meeting

L 112

Dean Taft/Dean Schumacher

718-488-1004

Mon. April 8, 2013

11 am

Rx Faculty Meeting

LLC 116

Dean Schumacher

718-488-1228

Thurs. April 11, 2013

1 pm
Interprofessional Education Program for Pharmacy, Nursing and Health Professions Student; Topic: TBD TBD

Dr. Anna Nogid

718-240-5349

Tues. April 16, 20

Time: TBD
“Albany Day” – Pharmacy lobbying day in Albany, NY  

Mr. Campbell

718-488-1241

Tues. April 16, 2013

3 pm – 5 pm
White Coat Ceremony Paramount Gym

Dean Cicero

718-488-1253
       
(Back to Top)
May
Date / Time Function Location Contact Person

Thurs. May 2,  2013

3 pm

Rx Executive Committee Meeting

L 112

Dean Taft/Dean Schumacher

718-488-1004

Tues. May 7, 2012

Last day of Spring Semester 2013 Classes

 

 

Tues. May 7, 2013

3 pm

Rx Deans Meeting

L 112

Dean Taft

718-488-1004

Wed. May 8-Tues. May 14, 2013

Final Exams

 

 

Thurs. May 23, 2013

4 pm

Council of Overseers Meeting

Harmonie Club, 4 East 60th Street, NY, NY

Dean Schumacher

718-488-1228

Mon. May 6, 2013

11 am

Rx Faculty Meeting

LLC 116

Dean Schumacher

718-488-1228

Thurs. May 16, 2013

Commencement

Barclay Center

Dean Schumacher

718-488-1228

(Back to Top)
June
Date / Time Function Location Contact Person

Wed. June 12, 2013

Part III NYS Board of Pharmacy Licensing Examination

WL 221

Dr. Cutie

718=488-1101

 

 

 

 

Arnold & Marie Schwartz College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences - 75 Dekalb Avenue - Brooklyn, New York. (718) 488-1004